Because personal injury cases are governed by state laws, the regulations surrounding them vary from state to state. Therefore, if you are unfamiliar with the laws in your jurisdiction, it is advisable to hire a personal injury attorney familiar with the Oklahoma legal system. He or she will be able to help you establish liability and determine the appropriate amount of compensation to seek.
Oklahoma is a “Comparative-Fault” State
Although you can be partially responsible for your own injuries, to be awarded compensation in the state of Oklahoma, other parties named in your lawsuit must hold the majority of fault for any injuries you suffered.
In other words, you can be no more than 49 percent responsible for your own injuries. The percentage of liability each party holds will determine the amount of compensation they are responsible for paying. Additionally, the damages awarded are decreased according to your degree of responsibility for your own injuries. This means that if you are 20 percent liable, then the damages you receive in your claim will only be 80 percent of the possible damages.
Potential Damages for Personal Injury in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma personal injury claims, financial and non-financial damages can be awarded. Financially based damages include lost wages, medical expenses, cost of supportive help, loss of future earnings, and property damage. Your attorney and the court will assign a dollar figure to pain and suffering to determine how much compensation you are entitled to.
The kind of damages you seek in your claim and the amount of compensation you ask for will be determined by the kind of injuries you suffered and the severity of those injuries. An Oklahoma personal injury attorney will make sure your claim includes the right type and amount of compensation. He or she will work to help you receive the highest settlement possible given the specifics of your case.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Oklahoma
In the state of Oklahoma, the statute of limitations is two years for most personal injury claims. Although you have two years to file your claim, the statute of limitations does not begin until you realize you have been injured. If you are not sure whether or not your claim falls within the statute of limitations, it is advisable to contact a personal injury attorney.