The laws and statutes surrounding personal injury claims vary from state to state. It is advisable to hire a personal injury attorney familiar with the regulations in your area to ensure that your claim is successful.
Ohio is a “Comparative-Fault” State
To determine the correct compensation for damages, each party’s liability must first be determined. In the state of Ohio, the claimant can be partially responsible for their own injuries and still receive compensation. However, if the claimant is more than 50 percent responsible for their own injuries, they are no longer entitled to compensation and cannot file a personal injury claim.
Keep in mind that a claimant’s compensation will be deducted according to their own degree of responsibility. In other words, if someone is 20 percent responsible for their own injuries, they will only receive up to 80 percent of the compensation they would have otherwise been entitled to.
Potential Damages for Personal Injury in Ohio
In Ohio, potential damages can include financial and non-financial losses.
Financial damages cover lost wages, property damage, medical expenses, loss of future income, and the cost of household help. Non-financial damages include the suffering and pain resulting from injuries.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Ohio
Each state sets its own specific statute of limitations, or timeframe in which a personal injury claim can be filed. In Ohio the statute of limitations is two years—beginning the moment you realize you have been injured.
Claims that fall outside the scope of the standard two-year statute of limitations will require the help of an Ohio personal injury attorney familiar with handling cases that are “exceptions to the rule”.