A personal injury doesn’t only result in pain and suffering. Such an injury can result in loss of wages, unexpected medical bills and other expenses you would not have incurred had the injury not happened. In such a situation you need to make sure your rights are protected and that you receive the compensation you are entitled to. The following information will help you understand the personal injury laws in Maine and how you can ensure the protection of your rights and receive the compensation you lawfully deserve.
A “Modified Comparative Fault” State
Maine is a modified comparative fault state. What this means is that if you are 50 percent or more at fault for an accident, you cannot collect damages for personal injury. If, however, your percentage of fault is lower than 50 percent, you can collect damages. The exact amount you collect is impacted by the percentage of fault you are deemed to have. For example, a person who is 0 percent at fault will receive more compensation than an injured individual who is 30 percent at fault.
Types of Personal Injury Cases
An injury that results in emotional, physical or mental damage and financial loss qualifies as a personal injury case as long as you are less than 50 percent at fault for the injury. There are a number of situations that could arise in a personal injury lawsuit. Common personal injury lawsuits are based on things such as car accidents, wrongful death cases, medical malpractice suits, defective products and workplace injuries.
During a personal injury case you can recover a number of financial losses including the cost of household help, pain and suffering, medical expenses, future earning ability and any lost wages. The exact amount of compensation that you are entitled to can be complicated to calculate, so it is always a good idea to discuss your losses with a Maine personal injury attorney.
Statute of Limitations
In every state there is a time limit in which you can file a personal injury lawsuit. You must file your case within this time period in order to protect your right to financial compensation. Maine has a longer statute of limitations than most states in the U.S. In the State of Maine you must file your lawsuit within six years of the date of the injury in order to protect your right to collect compensation for damages related to your personal injury.
Working with a Maine Personal Injury Attorney
Personal injury law can be very complicated. You must first establish fault and must then be able to prove your losses. The best way to do this is with the help of a Maine personal injury lawyer. A Maine personal injury attorney can help you establish your losses and the exact amount of compensation that you are entitled to as well as determine fault in regards to your personal injury case.
Click here if you would like to receive a free consultation regarding your personal injury case in Maine and to see if you may be eligible to receive compensation for any losses and/or pain and suffering that you have endured.