When you are faced with a personal injury the financial ramifications can be overwhelming. The expenses from lost wages and injury-related medical bills can quickly spiral out of control. In times such as these it is imperative that you protect your rights. Understanding the personal injury laws of your state is an important part of that protection. The following information will help you understand the personal injury laws in Kansas and how you can ensure that you protect your right to compensation for the injury you have suffered.
A “Modified Comparative No Fault” State
Kansas is technically a “no fault” state but the state does follow a modified comparative fault doctrine. This doctrine states that if an individual is less than 50 percent to blame for an injury they may be entitled to compensation from the party who is found to be at fault.
It is important to note that in the State of Kansas there is a serious injury threshold. This means that your damages must meet a minimum of $2,000 before you can file a lawsuit or a personal injury claim.
Types of Personal Injury Cases
There are a number of instances that could lead to a personal injury case in the State of Kansas. Basically any injury that you incur due to the actions or negligence of another party (who was 51 percent or more to blame for the incident) that results in more than $2,000 in losses qualifies as a personal injury claim. Examples of personal injury cases include car accidents, medical malpractice claims, slip and fall cases, wrongful death cases, worker’s compensation cases and product liability cases.
Statute of Limitations
If you have suffered an injury due to the actions or negligence of another party you have a limited time frame in which you can file a claim. This is referred to as a statute of limitations. In the State of Kansas the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years. This means that you must consult with a Kansas personal injury attorney and file suit within two years of the date that the injury occurred in order to protect your right to compensation.
Working with a Kansas Personal Injury Attorney
If you were injured as the result of someone else’s actions or negligence, that party was at least 51 percent to blame and your losses totaled $2,000 or more as a result of the injury, you should seek the services of a Kansas personal injury lawyer. Your lawyer will ensure that your case is handled properly, your rights are protected and that you receive the compensation that you are entitled to as a result of the injury that you suffered.
See our "Free Case Evaluation" page if you would like to receive a free consultation regarding your personal injury case in Kansas and to see if you may be eligible to receive compensation for any losses and/or pain and suffering that you have endured.