Suffering from a personal injury can be a stressful and traumatizing experience. Each and every state is different in the laws that pertain to personal injury and what recourse victims of personal injury cases have available to them. The following information will help you understand the personal injury laws in Idaho and how you can ensure that you protect your rights to be compensated for any pain and suffering you may have incurred due to such an injury.
A "Fault" State
The State of Idaho follows a “fault” system. This means that the person who is at fault for an injury or accident is liable for personal injury and/or property damage. Usually these cases are the result of car accidents and the individual who is responsible for the injury will have insurance that will pay for the damages.
It is important to remember that while Idaho technically is a “fault” system state, the state has adopted the 50 percent bar rule. This means that a damaged individual is not able to recover monetary compensation for his or her injuries if he or she is 50 percent or more at fault for them. This means that even if you are partially at fault for the accident, as long as you are less than 50 percent at fault you can still be compensated for your injury and losses.
Types of Personal Injury Cases
While most personal injury cases in Idaho involve automobile accidents, there are other types of personal injury cases that an individual may be able to receive compensation for. Some of the different personal injury cases in the State of Idaho include dog bites, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents, scooter injuries, RV accidents and wrongful death. Other incidents in which you have been injured may also be covered by personal injury law. It is best to discuss your situation with an Idaho personal injury attorney to determine whether or not your specific situation qualifies for personal injury litigation.
Statute of Limitations
It is important that you understand the statute of limitations in your state when dealing with a personal injury case. In order to protect your rights you will want to file your case before the statute of limitations runs out. If you do not file your case in time, you may lose your right to any financial compensation for the injury or loss you have suffered.
In the State of Idaho, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is two years. This means you must file suit within two years of your injury in order to retain your right to compensation.
Working with an Idaho Personal Injury Attorney
Proving a personal injury case can be hard. Proving to what extent, if any, you were to blame (or not to blame) for the injury can be even more difficult. This is why it is crucial to retain the services of an Idaho personal injury attorney if you have suffered an injury due to the actions or negligence of another party. A personal injury attorney in Idaho can ensure that your rights are protected and that you receive the compensation you deserve.
See our “Free Case Evaluation” page if you would like to receive a free consultation regarding your personal injury case in Idaho and to see if you may be eligible to receive compensation for any losses and/or pain and suffering that you have endured.