Laws that govern personal injury claims vary from one state to the next. The laws that govern compensation, statutes of limitations, and the designation of fault in a personal injury case are unique to Rhode Island. Because knowledge of the state legal system is critical to filing a success personal injury claim, it is in your best interest to hire a personal injury attorney. He or she will be able to help you establish fault under state statutes and will work to get you the fairest amount of compensation.
Rhode Island is a “Comparable Fault State”
In Rhode Island, as long as the claimant is not entirely at fault for his or her own injuries, he or she can be partially responsible for their own injuries and still receive compensation.
It is important to note however, that the amount of compensation awarded in your claim is reduced in proportion to your level of responsibility. In other words, if you are 10 percent responsible, then you can only receive 90 percent of the damages possible in your claim.
Potential Damages for Personal Injury in Rhode Island
A personal injury lawsuit in Rhode Island can include damages for financial losses you’ve suffered as well as non-economic losses. The circumstances surrounding your claim will determine which damages you can seek and how much compensation you are eligible for. A Rhode Island personal injury attorney can advise you on the type and amount of damages to include in your claim.
Potential damages sought in Rhode Island can include financial losses like medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, cost of household help, and loss of future earnings. Non-financial damages cover pain and suffering, which are more difficult to establish.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Rhode Island
In order to see compensation awarded for damages, you must file your Rhode Island personal injury claim for liable or slander within one year. For all other personal injury claims in the state, the statute of limitations for filing is three years.
The statute of liability begins the moment you realize you’ve suffered harm. If you realize you have suffered harm due to another party's negligence after the statute has expired, it is advisable to hire a personal injury attorney familiar with arguing claims outside the statute of limitations.